Stu Gibson and Spencer Frost win Australia’s most celebrated surf photography and videography competition.

Nikon Surf Photo of the Year Winner, Stu Gibson


Sydney, Australia – 5 May 2021 – In partnership with Surfing Australia, Nikon Australia is pleased to announce the 2021 winners of the Nikon Surf Photo and Video of the Year Awards. Stu Gibson was awarded the Nikon Surf Photo of the Year Award, while Spencer Frost was awarded the Nikon Surf Video of the Year Award.

John Young, General Manager, Marketing, Nikon Australia, said, “We are inspired by the dynamic field of entries we received in this year’s awards. Both of our winners delivered striking work, capturing the true passion that goes into shooting the beauty and intensity of the surf. Congratulations to everyone that entered.”

This year’s winners were selected by a panel of 13 high-profile judges from within the surfing industry, including Nikon Brand Ambassador and seven-time World Surfing Champion, Stephanie Gilmore.

Stu Gibson and Spencer Frost were both awarded the new Nikon Z 6II and NIKKOR Z 24 – 70mm f/4 S lens at last night’s annual Australian Surfing Awards on the Gold Coast.


Nikon Surf Video of the Year Winner, Spencer Frost

Keep the inspiration going

Enjoy a two year warranty period when purchasing directly from Nikon or one of our Authorised Resellers and registering your products with My Nikon Life.